Extreme sloth repelling?!

I’ve found the most amazing place to eat delicious ceviche while doing my homework.  It’s a little shack-type restaurant/bar on the beach called Balu.  They have lockers so I can lock my stuff up while I go for a swim as well, which is fantastic since petty theft is apparently a huge problem here.  And I use the term ‘swim’ very loosely as not only is this the rainy season, but it’s big wave season as well.  I got pummeled yesterday in about three feet of water before retreating back to the restaurant to do my homework while shaking the mound of sand out of my hair.  I can still feel sand grains between my teeth. . .

View from Balu Restaurant

View from Balu Restaurant

View from Balu Restaurant

View from Balu Restaurant

I had dinner tonight at a local restaurant with a killer view of the Manuel Antonio coastline called Agua Azul, and as I was about to order, I noticed the couple at the next table staring in the direction below the balcony.  I looked over the railing and there was the most ridiculous sight.  A sloth literally repelling across an electrical line. . .no shit.  This little dude (or dudette) repelled until (s)he hit the telephone pole and then realized (s)he was screwed, so started back in the direction (s)he came from!  Check out the photos.  They are a bit dark as the sun was about to set.  I did my best to lighten them up.

Sloth repelling

Sloth repelling

Sloth repelling

Sloth repelling

Sloth repelling

Sloth repelling

View from Aqua Azul restaurant

View from Aqua Azul restaurant

View from Aqua Azul restaurant

View from Aqua Azul restaurant

This weekend is shaping up to be a great adventure.  I’ll take the bus into Quepos tomorrow to experience the farmers market on the boardwalk.  Hopefully I will find some good produce and less expensive eats.  Saturday morning I will explore Manuel Antonio National Park with a guide hired through my school so I can get the lay of the land in the park.  That way I can enter on my own from now on and explore unaided.  The beaches in the park are apparently more sheltered and amazing.. . although there are salt water crocs and this is mating season!  Fun stuff.  Saturday night I’m attending a play that my new friend Moriah is in.  She describes it sort of as the Spanish vagina monologues.  Can’t wait to see what that’s about!

Stay tuned. . .

Tranquilo,

Catalina

Leave a Reply

